Think Tank 2022 Rally of Hope Keynote Speakers

Dr. Hak Ja Han Moon, Co-Founder, Universal Peace Federation



Dr. Hak Ja Han Moon is the co-founder of the Universal Peace Federation, which she established in 2005 with her late husband, the Rev. Dr. Sun Myung Moon. Together they have spent more than six decades promoting world peace, unity and reconciliation through numerous international movements and global initiatives. In August 2020, Dr. Moon launched the Rally of Hope series, working alongside world leaders to bridge the political and religious spheres while addressing society's most pressing issues. A best-selling author, Dr. Moon published her memoir *Mother of Peace* in 2020. She is also the founder of the World Christian Leadership Conference (WCLC), among other notable ventures.

His Excellency Hun Sen, Prime Minister, Kingdom of Cambodia



His Excellency Hun Sen was elected prime minister in 1985 and is the longest serving head of government in the Kingdom of Cambodia. He fought in the Cambodian civil war and Cambodian-Vietnamese War before becoming the country's youngest foreign minister at age 26. Prime Minister Sen played a role in the 1991 Paris Peace Talks, which brokered peace in Cambodia and formally ended war with Vietnam. From 2008 to 2013, he negotiated a de-escalation on several occasions during the ongoing Cambodia-Thailand border dispute. During the Covid-19 pandemic in 2020, Prime Minister Sen welcomed the *MS Westerdam* cruise ship to dock after it was turned away from other countries. A father of six, his three sons also serve in governmental roles.



His Excellency José Manuel Barroso, President, European Commission (2004-2014)

His Excellency José Manuel Barroso, prime minister of Portugal from 2002 to 2004, served as president of the European Commission for a decade (from 2004 to 2014). During that time, he received a Nobel Peace Prize in 2012 on behalf of the European Union, which was recognized for advancing the causes of peace, reconciliation, democracy and human rights in Europe. H.E. Barroso currently serves as a policy fellow and teacher at Princeton University and as a non-executive chairman of Goldman Sachs International.



Her Excellency Gloria Macapagal Arroyo, President, Republic of the Philippines (2001-2010)

An academic and politician, Her Excellency Gloria Macapagal Arroyo served as president of the Republic of the Philippines from 2001 to 2010. She previously served as vice president and as a senator. In 2018, she became the first woman Speaker of the House of Representatives before her retirement from politics in 2019. During her presidency, she focused on the nation's economy, which saw annual growth under her administration. H.E. Arroyo was named Woman of the Year in 2003 by the Catholic Education Association of the Philippines, among other recognitions. She is currently working on her memoir narrating her experiences as president.



His Excellency H.D. Deve Gowda, Prime Minister, Republic of India (1996-1997)

His Excellency H.D. Deve Gowda served as prime minister of the Republic of India from 1996 to 1997. A current member of parliament and national president of the Janata Dal party since 1994, he received a degree in civil engineering and first began his political career in 1953 as a member of the Indian National Congress party. In 2018, he received the Maharshi Valmiki Award for his contribution to the community's welfare. H.E. Gowda has six children, including four sons who are also politicians.

His Excellency Anthony Thomas Aquinas Carmona, President, Republic of Trinidad and Tobago (2013-2019)

His Excellency Anthony Thomas Aquinas Carmona, a lawyer and politician, served as the president of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago from 2013 to 2018. Justice Carmona has worked in public service throughout his life, as a secondary school teacher, a lecturer, and a senior tutor at the University of the West Indies, as well as being a prosecutor for more than 20 years. A father of two, Justice Carmona supports a number of NGOs and has been the recipient of several awards including the World Peace Culture Award for advocating peace, justice and human rights.



Her Excellency Nataša Mićić, President, Republic of Serbia (2002-2004)

A lawyer and politician, Her Excellency Nataša Mićić served as the acting president of the Republic of Serbia from 2002 to 2004 when election turnout fell short of the 50 percent requirement. A high-ranking official of the Civic Alliance of Serbia (GSS), she became the parliamentary vice president in 2001, and elected GSS president in 2004. H.E. Mićić, a graduate of the University of Belgrade's Law School, previously worked as a lawyer during the 1990s. In 2007, she became the vice president of the Liberal Democratic Party, which merged with GSS.